SUMMARY OF ACTIONS

2023 Spring Huntsville Presbytery Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America



Meeting
May 20, 2023
St. Elizabeth CPCA
104 Perry Street
Madison, Alabama 35758

The Reverend Dr. Barbara Clemons, Moderator
The Reverend Tramaine Snodgrass, Vice Moderator
The Reverend Byron McGlathery, Stated Clerk
Sister Vanessa Collier, Engrossing Clerk

The Spring Huntsville Presbytery Of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America St. Elizabeth CPCA 104 Perry Street Madison, Alabama 35758 May 20, 2023

SUMMARY OF ACTIONS

The following SUMMARY is a brief description of the actions taken by the 2023 Spring Huntsville Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America, May 20, 2023. This SUMMARY is not intended to be nor is it, the authoritative document for guiding the Presbytery's actions. The intent is to summarize the work of the Huntsville Presbytery. The Huntsville Presbytery MINUTES serve as that authority. Note: These actions are the results of the Spring Huntsville Presbytery and not the minutes. This is a SUMMARY OF ACTIONS ONLY. This SUMMARY is provided as a courtesy of the Huntsville Presbytery.

The 2023 Spring Huntsville Presbytery of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America, meeting May 20, 2023 accomplished the following actions:

Host: St. Elizabeth CPCA

Host Pastor: The Reverend Columbus Waddle

Theme: "Redemption: God's Plan in Action" Jeremiah 29:11

Organizational Matters

- 1. THE SPRING HUNTSVILLE PRESBYTERY WAS CONSTITUTED with thirty-six (36) ministers, and sixteen (16) churches. Three (3) licentiates also answered the roll.
- 2. **RECEIVED** excellent hospitality from the host, St. Elizabeth CPCA.
- 3. **ACKNOWLEDGED** The Reverend Dr. Theodis Acklin, Moderator of the General Assembly of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America and Elder Vanessa Midgett, Stated Clerk of the General Assembly of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in America.

Communications

4. **RECEIVED/REFERRED TO THE COMMITTEE ON MINISTRY** seven (7) written communications, two (2) verbal communications from ministers, one (1) written communication from a licentiate, and one (1) written communication from a candidate who were not able to attend this meeting of Presbytery.

- 5. **RECEIVED/REFERRED TO THE COMMITTEE ON MINISTRY** a communication from New Hope CPCA requesting Sister Rose Nance be accepted as a Candidate for the Ministry.
- 6. **RECEIVED/REFERRED TO THE COMMITTEE ON MNISTRY** a communication from Madkins Chapel CPCA naming the Reverend Debra McGlathery-Holden Stated Supply and Moderator of the Session.
- 7. **RECEIVED FOR THE GOOD OF THE BODY** a thank you card from the Reverend George Bennett, Sr., for the donation he received from the Huntsville Presbytery.
- 8. **RECEIVED AS INFORMATION** the 101st Birthday Celebration of Mrs. Nell Lane Bradford, May 19, 2023.

Financial Matters

- 9. **RECEIVED** the 2023 tithes/congregation reports from the churches of the Huntsville Presbytery.
- 10. **APPROVED** expenses for the Commissioners/Delegates/General Assembly Officer/General Assembly Auxiliary Officer to the 146th General Assembly.
- 11. **HEARD/ADOPTED** a report from the Board of Budget and Finance.

Reports

- 12. **HEARD THE RESULT OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT VOTE** Huntsville Presbytery's vote was Yes for the Constitutional Amendment.
- 13. **ADOPTED THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT** (Vacancies for AL Synod Officers, Boards and Committees and Vacancies for the General Assembly Boards and Committees)

Elections

- 14. **ELECTED** Huntsville Presbytery's Nominees for vacancies of Officers of the AL Synod, **Moderator**, the Reverend Terence Haley, **Vice Moderator**, the Reverend James Robinson, **Engrossing Clerk**, the Reverend Dr. Dorothy J. Tiller.
- 15. **ELECTED** Huntsville Presbytery's Nominees for vacancies on the Boards and Committees of the AL Synod, **Board of Judiciary**, Elder Franklin Fletcher and the Reverend Dwight Robinson, **Nomination Committee**, Elder Patrick Harris, **Committee on Banking**, Elder Ralph Redrick.
- 16. **ELECTED** Huntsville Presbytery's Nominees for vacancies on the Boards and Committees of the General Assembly, **Board of Judiciary**, the Reverend Dr. Theodis

Acklin, Executive Board (Member-at-Large), Elder Betty Fletcher, Historical Foundation of the CPC/CPCA, Sister Nina Phipps.

17. **ELECTED** the Reverend Dr. Barbara Clemons as a nominee for Moderator of the General Assembly and Sister Vanessa Collier as a nominee for Engrossing Clerk of the General Assembly.

Informational Matters

- 18. **HEARD** the following announcements:
 - Reverend Tramaine Snodgrass voted Pastor of the Year by AAMU Progressive Alumni Association
 - Bus Transportation Information to the General Assembly

ADJOURNED at 10:48 A.M.

Humbly Submitted,

The Reverend Dr. Barbara Clemons, Moderator

The Reverend Byron McGlathery Stated Clerk